The Law Dictionary Collection at Tarlton Law Library would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:

Abramson, Carl : University of Texas Law, 1954

Kniepkamp, Hanns P. Rechtsworterbuch: Englisch-Deutsch, Deutsch-Englisch. Berlin-Dahlem. 1950. New York: Oceana Publications, 1954.
[Anon.] Vocabularius utriusque juris. Paris: Apud Claudiu[s] Chevallonium, 1532.

Batts, Robert Lynn : University of Texas Law, 1886

Escriche, Joaquín. Diccionario razonada de legislacion y jurisprudencia. Nueva ed. por don Juan B. Guim. Paris: Librería de Rosa, Bouret y Cía., 1852.
Montiel y Duarte, Isidro Antonio. Vocabularia de jurisprudencia. México: Imprenta de la v. é. hijos de Murguía, 1878.

Black, Charles Jr. & Thomas

Escriche, Joaquín. Diccionario razonada de legislacion y jurisprudencia. Paris: Libreria de Garnier Hermanos, 1896.
Jacob, Giles. A New Law Dictionary. 10th ed. London : Printed by W. Strahan and W. Woodfall for W. Strahan, J. Rivington and sons [etc.], 1782.

Boucher, Harold I.

Cowell, John. The Interpreter: or, Booke Containing the Signification of Words. Cambridge: Printed by Iohn Legate, 1607.
Rastell, John. Les termes de la ley. London: Printed for the Company of Stationers, 1629.

De Los Santos, Andrea

[Anon.] Vocabularium perutile juris utriusque juris tam civila quam canonici. Milano: Johanes Jacobi, 1509.

Dougherty, J. Chrys

Burrill, Alexander M. A New Law Dictionary and Glossary. 2 vols. New-York: J.S. Voorhies, 1850-51.

Fuller, Dave

[Anon.] Vocabularium perutile juris utriusque juris tam civila quam canonici.Milano: Johanes Jacobi, 1509.

Garner, Bryan A. and Pan : University of Texas Law, 1984

Black, Henry Campbell. A Dictionary of Law: Containing Definitions of the Terms and Phrases of American and English Jurisprudence, Ancient and Modern. St. Paul, Minn.: West Publishing Co., 1891.
Browne, Irving. The Judicial Interpretation of Common Words and Phrases. San Francisco: Sumner, Whitney, 1883.
Wharton, J. J. S. The Law Lexicon, or Dictionary of Jurisprudence. London: Spettigue and Farrance, 1848.
[Anon.] Vocabularius utriusque juris. Basel [Switzerland]: Nicolaus Kesler, 1488.

Garrett, Jenkins : University of Texas Law, 1937

[Anon.] Vocabularius utriusque juris. Basel [Switzerland]: Nicolaus Kesler, 1488.

George, Steven K.

[Anon.] Vocabularium perutile juris utriusque juris tam civila quam canonici. Milano: Johanes Jacobi, 1509.

Greenhill, Joe R. Sr. : University of Texas Law, 1939

[Anon.] Vocabularius utriusque juris. Basel [Switzerland]: Nicolaus Kesler, 1488.

Jamail, Joseph D. : University of Texas Law, 1953

Bouvier, John. A Law Dictionary, adapted to the Constitution and laws of the United States of America, and of the several states of the American union: with references to the civil and other systems of foreign law. 2 vols. Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott, 1878.
Branch, Thomas. Principa legis et Æqitatis: being an alphabetical collection of maxims, principles or rules, definitions, and memorable sayings, in law and equity. London: Printed for J. and W. T. Clarke, 1822.
Brown, Archibald. A new law Dictionary and Institute of the Whole Law for the Use of Students, the Legal Profession, and the Public. London: Stevens & Haynes, 1874.
Burn, Richard. A New Law Dictionary, intended for general use as well as for gentlemen of the profession. 2 vols. London: Printed by A. Strahan and W. Woodfall for T. Cadell, 1792.
Calvinus, Johannes. Lexicon juridicum, juris caesarei simul, et canonici. Geneva: Philippus Albertus, 1622.
Hemings, William. Alphabetical List of Law Maxims with Translations and Explanations. London: T. F. A. Day, 1860.
Houard, David. Dictionnaire analytique, historique, etymologique, critique et interpretive de la coutume de normandie. 4 vols. Rouen: Le Boucher, 1780-1782.
Jacob, Giles. The Law Dictionary, Greatly Enlarged by T. E. Tomlins. 2nd ed. 2 vols. London: A. Strahan, for J. Johnson [et al], 1809.
Jacob, Giles. The Law Dictionary, Now Greatly Enlarged and Improved by Many Material Corrections and Additions.... by T. E. Tomlins. London: C. and R. Baldwin [?], 1810.
Jacob, Giles. A New Law Dictionary. 8th ed. [London]: Printed by T. Osborn, 1762.
Jacob, Giles. A New Law Dictionary. 4th ed. [London] In the Savoy : Printed by E. and R. Nutt, and R. Gosling, 1739.
Kelham, Robert. A Dictionary of the Norman or Old French Language. London ]: Printed for W. Clarke, and Sons, [1800?].
Leigh, Edward. A Philologicall Commentary, or, an Illustration of the Most Obvious and Useful Words in the Law. [London?]: Charles Adams, 1652.

Tarlton Law Library's Millionth Volume:
Rastell, John. Exposiciones terminorum legum anglorum. London: [John Rastell] In chepe syde at powlys gate, [n.d.]. (c. 1523/1530).

Rastell, John. Les termes de la ley. London: Printed for the Company of Stationers, 1607.
Rastell, John. Les termes de la ley. London: Printed by G. Walbanke, S. Heyrick, J. Place, 1685.
Sheppard, William. An Epitome of all the Common and Stature Laws of the Nation Now in Force. [London?]: Printed by W. Lee, D. Pakeman [and others], 1656.
Tayler, Thomas. A Law Glossary of the Latin, Greek, Norman, French and Other Languages: Interspersed in the Commentaries by Sir W. Blackstone, knt. and VariousLaw Treatises upon Each Branch of the Profession. London: Printed for J. and W. T. Clarke, 1823.
Tomlins, Thomas Edlyne. The Law Dictionary: Explaining the Rise, Progress, and Present State of the British Law. 4th ed. 2 vols. London: Printed for J. & W.T. Clarke ... [et al.], 1835.
Wharton, J. J. S. Wharton's Law-Lexicon, or Dictionary of Jurisprudence. Fifth edition, rev. and enl. by J. Shiress Will. London: Stevens and Sons, 1872.
Whishaw, James. A New Law Dictionary: containing a concise exposition of the mere terms of art and such obsolete words as occur in old legal, historical and antiquarian writers. London: J. & W. T. Clarke, 1829.
Williams, Thomas Walter. A Compendious and Comprehensive Law Dictionary, Elucidating the Terms, and General Principles of Law and Equity. London: Gale and Fenner, 1816.

Katz, Farley

[Anon.] Vocabularium perutile juris utriusque juris tam civila quam canonici. Milano: Johanes Jacobi, 1509.

Lackey, Sam C. : University of Texas Law, 1889

Bouvier, John. A Law Dictionary. 5th ed. 2 vols. Philadelphia: Printed for the estate of John Bouvier, 1855.

Leake, Chauncey D., Jr. : University of Texas Law, 1955

[Anon.] Flores legum secudum ordinem alphabeti: cum additionibus et concordantiis doctorum. [s.l]: [s.n., c. 1520].
[Anon.] Vocabularius utriusque juris. Basel [Switzerland]: Nicolaus Kesler, 1488.
[Anon.]Vocabularius utriusque juris.Venundantur Parhisei : Johanne paruo in vico sancti Jacobi sub intersignio Lilij aurei., [1525.]
[Anon.] Vocabularius utriusque juris. Paris: Apud Claudiu[s] Chevallonium, 1532.
[Anon.] Vocabularius utriusque juris. [Lyon]: Vincentius de Portonariis, de Tridino de Monte Ferrato, 1537.
[Anon.] Vocabularius utriusque juris. Venice: s.n., M D LXIX [1569].
Ferriere, Claude Joseph de. Dictionnaire de droit et de pratique Nouvelle ed. revue, corrigee & augmentee par M.***. 2 vols. Paris: Chez Brocas, 1771.
Wernherus of Schussenried. Modus legendi abbreviaturas in utrioque jure. Paris: Impressus per Iohannem lambert [for J. Petit], 1506.

Little, Jack : University of Texas Law, 1957

Bouvier, John. Bouvier's Law Dictionary and Concise Encyclopedia. 3rd revision (being the 8th ed.) by Francis Rawle. 3 vols. St. Paul, Minn.: West Pub., 1914.

Manne, Beverly

Duprat, Pardoux. Lexicon juris civilis et canonici: sive potius, commentarius de verborum quae ad utrumque jus pertinent significatione. Lyon: Apud G. Rovillium, 1580.

McClendon, James W. : University of Texas Law, 1897

Jacob, Giles. A New Law Dictionary. [London] In the Savoy: Printed by E. and R. Nutt, and R. Gosling, (assigns of E. Sayer) for J. and J. Knapton [etc.], 1729.

Meyer, R. Bruce & Margaret M.

[Anon.] Vocabularium perutile juris utriusque juris tam civila quam canonici. Milano: Johanes Jacobi, 1509.

Meyer Boswell Books

Cochran, William Cox. The New Pronoucing Edition of the Student's Law Lexicon. Cincinnati, Ohio: W.H. Anderson Co., 1924.

Parrish, Jenni : University of Texas Law, 1978

[Anon.] Vocabularius utriusque juris. Basel [Switzerland]: Nicolaus Kesler, 1488.

Rindt, John M. & Kathleen L.

[Anon.] Vocabularium perutile juris utriusque juris tam civila quam canonici. Milano: Johanes Jacobi, 1509.

Simkins, William Stewart : University of Texas Law Professor, 1899-1929

Tayler, Thomas. The Law Glossary. Albany, N.Y. : W. & A. Gould, 1833.

Tobin, Margaret Batts : from the library of Robert Lynn Batts, UT Law 1886.

Blount, Thomas. A Law- Dictionary and Glossary. 3rd ed. [London] in the Savoy: Printed by Eliz. Nutt and R. Gosling ... for D. Browne ... [et al.], 1717.
Cowell, John. Nomothetes: The Interpreter. London: Printed by the assigns of Richard Atkins and Sir Edward Atkins, for H. Twyford, Tho. Basset, J. Place, and H. Sawbridge, 1684.

Widener, Emma Molina

Santamaría, Francisco J. Diccionario del còdigo civil para el distrito y terrtorios federales. Méjico: Editorial "Cultvra," 1935.

Williams, Dan & Kristi

[Anon.] Vocabularium perutile juris utriusque juris tam civila quam canonici. Milano: Johanes Jacobi, 1509.

View a complete list of the early law dictionaries held by Tarlton Law Library.