Skip to Main Content
Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:

Constitutions of Texas 1824-1876


DECLARATION.beginning page of Declaration

SECTION I. Be it declared, by the people of Texas, in Convention assembled, That the territory comprised within the limits of the following named counties shall compose the Congressional Districts of the State of Texas, until otherwise provided by law.

SECTION II. The First Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of Anderson, Angelina, Cherokee, Harrison, Henderson, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Panola, Polk, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith, Trinity, Tyler, Hardin, Chambers, Van Zandt, and Wood.

SECTION III. The Second Congressional District shall consist of the counties of Marion, Upshur, Davis, Bowie, Titus, Red River, Lamar, Hopkins, Kaufman, Fannin, Grayson, Hunt, Collin, Dallas, Tarrant, Cooke, Denton, Montague, Wise, Parker, Palo Pinto, Jack, Clay, Wichita, Archer, Young, Throckmorton, Wilbarger, Hardeman, Knox, Haskell, Jones, Shackleford, Stephens, Ellis, Johnson, Callahan, Eastland, Erath, Hood, and Taylor.

SECTION IV. The Third Congressional District shall consist of the counties of Galveston, Brazoria, Fort Bend, Harris, Austin, Montgomery, Walker, Grimes, Brazos, Washington, Burleson, Milam, Robertson, Madison, Leon, Freestone, Limestone, Falls, McLennan, Matagorda, Wharton, Bosque, Hill, and Navarro.

SECTION V. The Fourth Congressional District shall consisst of the counties of Colorado, Fayette, Lavaca, Jackson, Bastrop, Travis, Williamson, Bell, Hamilton, Comanche, Brown, Coleman, Runnels, Concho, McCulloch, San Saba, Lampasas, Burnet, Llano, Mason, Kendall, Edwards, Kerr, Gillespie, Blanco, Bandera, Comal, Hays, Caldwell, Guadalupe, Bexar, Wilson, Gonzales, De Witt, Karnes, Goliad, Victoria, Calhoun, Refugio, San Patricio, Nueces, Bee, Live Oak, Atascosa, Medina, Uvalde, Dawson, Zavala, Frio, Dimmitt, Lasalle, McMullin, Encinal, Duval, Cameron, Hidalgo, Starr, Zapata, Webb, Kinney, Presidio, Maverick, Elpaso, and Coryell.

(Transcription, errors in original preserved)

Declaration, page 43

Declaration, page 43

Declaration, page 44

Declaration, page 44