Skip to Main Content
Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:

Constitutions of Texas 1824-1876

Article II: The Powers of Government

ARTICLE II.only page of Article II

The Powers of Government.

SECTION 1. The powers of the government of the State of Texas shall be divided into three distinct departments, each of which shall be confided to a separate body of magistracy; to wit: Those which are legislative to one, those which are executive to another, and those which are judicial to another; and no person, or collection of persons, being of one of these departments, shall exercise any power properly attached to either of the others, except in the instances herein expressly permitted.

(Transcription, errors in original preserved)

Article II, Section 1; Article III, Sections 1-4

Article II, Section 1; Article III, Sections 1-4