Tarlton Law Library: Federal Legislative History Research: Bill's Background & Tracking

Resources on a Bill's Background

Sometimes you can lose sight of the forest for the trees. These resources can provide an overview and context for a law’s passage. For more information about Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, review the CRS section of the Library of Congress website.

Congressional Digest
Also available in print (1984-) at Tarlton Law Library.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS is part of the Library of Congress, and issues reports at the request of Congress on various topics. These topics might be the subject of proposed or existing legislation. Alternatively, some reports concern the workings of the federal government, including Congress itself.
CRS Reports - Bloomberg
- This link opens in a new window
From the Homepage, select Browse in the upper left > Laws & Regulations > Legislative Resources > under Legislative Materials, select More > CRS Reports
CRS Reports - HeinOnline
HeinOnline contains many (but not all) CRS Reports
CRS Reports - ProQuest Congressional
On the Advanced Search page, uncheck all sources except CRS Reports.
Coverage from 1916 to Present.
CRS Reports - ProQuest Legislative Insight
On the Quick Search or Guided Search Page, restrict sources to "CRS and Misc. Publications"
Selected reports from 1929 to Present.
CQ Weekly
Available in Print at Tarlton for 1998-2016.
Available Online from Hathi Trust for 1955-1998 and from CQ Press Library for 1998-2010.
CQ Researcher
Online (1991-) more in-depth, but selective, policy articles than CQ Weekly.
Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports
Online (1970- ) Independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress to investigate federal government spending of taxpayer dollars
The Hill
A politics-focused news service that covers a wide range of federal government activities, including the federal legislative process.
Politico
A politics-focused news service that covers a wide range of federal government activities, including the federal legislative process.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International database
Bibliographic index with citation and abstracts for material covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues.
Documents from 1915 to Present
Roll Call
A politics-focused new service that reports on legislative and political maneuverings within the U.S. Congress.

Bill Tracking Tools

Below are tools for tracking legislation and voting information of House and Senate members. You can also check for policy briefs from advocacy groups and think tanks about legislation they favor or oppose. For a listing of organizations and their websites, see The Encyclopedia of Associations at PCL.

Congress.gov
Offers email alerts to track a Member of Congress, legislation, or the Congressional Record.
GovTrack.us
Subscribe to email updates to track bills and resolutions in Congress.
LexisNexis
From the Homepage, type "Bill Tracking Report - Current Congress" and select from the suggestion dropdown menu.
Westlaw
From the Homepage, select Statutes & Court Rules. Then, under Tools & Resources on the right, select Bill Tracking. Note that you can track both federal Congressional bills and state legislation. For information on past legislation, select Bill Tracking: Historical under Tools & Resources on the right side of the main Bill Tracking page.

Visiting

Facilities

About

Resources

Databases

Services

Services

Guides

Collection Services

Federal Legislative History Research

Resources on a Bill's Background

Bill Tracking Tools