Skip to Main Content
Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:
Mason and Associates: Lawyers on Television

Major Television Awards

Each year programs featuring law and lawyers are nominated and often win prestigious awards for everything from best actor to outstanding drama.

Emmy Awards

emmy awardThe Emmy Award, often referred to simply as the Emmy, is a television production award, similar in nature to the Peabody Awards but more focused on entertainment, and is considered the television equivalent to the Academy Awards (for film), Grammy Awards (for music) and Tony Awards (for stage).

About the Emmy Awards




Golden Globe Awards

golden globe awardsThe Golden Globe Award is an award for motion pictures and television programs, given out each year during a formal dinner. Hosted by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) since 1944, the awards are a major part of the film industry's "awards season" which culminates each year with the Oscars.

About the Golden Globe Awards




The George Foster Peabody Awards

Peabody AwardFirst presented in 1941, the George Foster Peabody Awards recognize distinguished achievement and meritorious service by broadcasters, cable and Webcasters, producing organizations, and individuals. The awards program is administered by the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia and is the oldest, most prestigious honor in electronic media.

About the Peabody Awards

Award Winning Programs 1955-2005 (PDF)