Skip to Main Content

Access to Tarlton is temporarily restricted to current UT Law faculty, staff, and students, from January 3 - 30, in keeping with university guidelines implemented in response to the recent developments of the COVID-19 pandemic. Other members of the UT Austin community who need assistance accessing library resources should contact the library's Circulation Desk (, 512-471-7726). Online reference services are also available.

Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:

Constitutions of Texas 1824-1876

Constitution of Texas (1861)

After Texas seceded from the Union, the 1861 constitution was drafted to transfer Texas statehood from the United States of America to the Confederate States of America. This constitution did not greatly alter the 1845 constitution, but rather altered references from the United States of America to the Confederate States of America and required elected officials to take an oath of loyalty to the Confederate States of America.

Table of Contents

The Constitution of the Confederate States of America, the Ordinances of the Texas Convention, and an Address to the People of Texas: Printed by Order of the Convention of the Senate. Austin: Printed by John Marshall, state printer, 1861. Winkler-Friend 189.Download PDF


title page