Skip to main content

The Tarlton Law Library’s physical facility, including Special Collections, is closed until further notice. Tarlton’s librarians and staff remain actively engaged in providing library services. Student tech support ( and faculty and student reference assistance ( will be available during business hours. Students can also consult our Library and Technology Support FAQ ( for most frequently needed information.

Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:
Directors of the Law Library

Cecil Morgan (1923-1924)

Cecil A. Morgan, 1924With the departure of Ione Spears, the Law Department returned to its earlier practice of having recent graduates serve as Law Librarian. Cecil A. Morgan (1899-1988) was admitted to practice in the Texas in 1923 and earned his LL.B. from the University of Texas in 1924. As a student, Mr. Morgan was a member of the McLaurin Law Society and Athenaeum Literary Society. Additionally, Mr. Morgan served as a member of the Texas House of Representatives from 1923-1925.

Mr. Morgan established a law practice in Fort Worth in 1924. He served as attorney for the Fort Worth schools from 1959-1980 and was one of the founders of the School Law Section of the State Bar of Texas.