Skip to Main Content
Today's Operating Hours:
More Hours
LIBRARY INFO
Visiting
Location & Parking
Hours
Policies
Floor Maps
Tours
Borrowing
Facilities
Floor Maps
Conference Rooms
How to Print, Copy, and Scan
Stack & Call Number Guide
About
Main Library Contacts
Staff Directory
Law Librarianship Education
RESEARCH
Resources
New Acquisitions
Search the Catalog
Federal Documents
Current Awareness
Access NYT & WSJ
Research Guides
Digital Collections
Archives & Special Collections
Databases
Legal Databases
CALI
Services
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery
STUDENT
Services
Technology Help
Course Reserves
Past Exams Database
Course Offerings
Bloomberg, Lexis, Westlaw Contact Info
1L Calendar
Guides
Graduating Students
Law Review Students
Study Aid Guide
Seminar Papers & Law Review Notes
FACULTY
Collection Services
Faculty Document Delivery Requests
Submit a Course Reserve
Submit a Past Exam
Scholarship Support
Find Your Liaison
Faculty Research Assistants
Legal Research Process
Home
Issue Spotting Considerations
Toggle Dropdown
Search Terms
Evaluating Websites
Google
Legal Encyclopedias
Research Guides
Treatises
Toggle Dropdown
How to Use Treatises
Law Reviews
Toggle Dropdown
Working Papers
Current Awareness Resources
Google Scholar
Indexes
ALR Annotations
Federal Statutes
Toggle Dropdown
Federal: Office of the Law Revision Counsel
Federal: Annotated Codes
Texas Statutes
Toggle Dropdown
Texas
50 State Surveys
Annotated Code Handbooks by Subject
Federal Administrative Law
Toggle Dropdown
Federal Register
Regulations.gov
Code of Federal Regulations
How to Find Relevant Federal Regulations in the CFR
How to Compile a Regulatory History
Texas Administrative Law
Toggle Dropdown
Texas Register
Texas Administrative Code
How to Compile TX Regulatory History
Administrative Hearings
Attorney General Opinions
Executive Documents
Cases
Toggle Dropdown
Google Scholar: Case Law
Lexis
Westlaw
Texas Current Awareness
Test
t
Use general sources for issue spotting
Find specialized sources relevant to specific problems
Use each source individually
Stay up to date
Google
Black’s Law Dictionary
Legal encyclopedias (TexJur, AmJur, CJS)
Ways to Find Relevant Sources
Legal research guide
Ask a law librarian, lawyer, or vendor
Browse by jurisdiction or subject
Search catalog or directory
Review annotations/citators
Use search engines
Follow citations found in other sources
Check a Source's Currency
Check scope note
Confirm source is "Maintained"
Scan dates of cited sources
Read "What’s New" preface
Review copyright date
Shepard’s/KeyCite primary sources
Check pocket part
Review looseleaf filing info
Check catalog record
Tools to Stay Up to Date
Alerts
Email updates
RSS feeds
Twitter
Tex. Reg.
CFR
Survey Secondary Sources
Treatises
Law reviews
ALR annotations
Search Within a Source
Table of contents
Index
Natural language search
Terms & connectors / advanced search fields
Tables of primary sources
Try a different version or medium
Other Ways to Stay Up to Date
Get help from librarians
Get help from vendors
Attend CLEs
Survey Primary Sources (Federal & State)
Codified statutes
Codified regulations
Case law (full-text and digests)
