Skip to main content

The Tarlton Law Library is open at this time with access limited to current UT Law students, faculty, and staff. Members of the UT Austin community unaffiliated with the law school may contact the Circulation Desk (, 512-471-7726) for assistance with accessing library resources. Online reference services are also available. Please see the Tarlton Reopening FAQs and the Texas Law Fall 2020 Reopening Plan for additional details

Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:
U T School of law early deans 1902 to 1974


Pearce Hall, circa 1920
Postcard painting of Pearce Hall,
postmarked Oct, 16th, 1920

Though the foundation was well-laid by the first law department professors, Robert S. Gould and Oran M. Roberts, the early deans of the University of Texas School of Law strove to build the school's reputation for greatness. By exacting a rigorous course load intended to dissuade less determined students, modernizing the curriculum and teaching methods, and instituting financial support outside university funding, our early deans helped shape the School of Law.

Not only were the early deans integral in establishing the reputation of the institution, they were internationally recognized scholars, judges, and attorneys. While some, like Dean George C. Butte, served only a one year term, others, notably Dean Page Keeton, spent the majority of their careers serving as the dean of UT Law.

The materials used in the creation of this exhibit are housed in the Archives and Special Collections Department of Tarlton Law Library and includes oral histories, articles, the Law School's yearbook, The Pereginus, and the University of Texas yearbook, The Cactus.