Skip to Main Content
Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:

Constitutions of Texas 1824-1876

Declaration of the People of Texas (1835)


In General Convention assembled.

Whereas, General Antonio Lopez de Santa Ana, and other military chieftains, have, by force of arms, overthrown the Federal Institutions of Mexico, and dissolved the social compact which existed between Texas and the other members of the Mexican Confederacy; now the good People of Texas, are availing themselves of their natural rights,


     1st. That they have taken up arms in defence of their rights and liberties, which are threatened by the encroachments of military despots, and in defence of the republican principles of the Federal Constitution of Mexico, of 1824.

     2d. That Texas is no longer morally or civilly bound by the Compact of Union; yet, stimulated by the generosity and sympathy common to a free people, they offer their support and assistance to such of the members of the Mexican Confederacy, as will take up arms against military despotism.

     3d. That they do not acknowledge that the present authorities of the nominal Mexican Republic have the right to govern within the limits of Texas. 

     4th. That they will not cease to carry out war against the said authorities, whilst their troops are within the limits of Texas.

     5th. That they hold it to be their right, during the disorganization of the Federal System, and the reign of despotism, to withdraw from the Union, to establish an independant government, or to adopt such measures as they may deem best calculated to protect their rights and liberties; but that t!1cy I will continue faithful to the Mexican government, so long as that nation is governed by the Constitution and laws that were formed for the government of the Political Association.

     6th. That Texas is responsible for the expenses of her armies, now in the field.

     7th. That the public faith of Texas is pledged for the payment of any debts contracted by her agents.

     8th. That she will reward by donations in land, all who volunteer their services in her present struggle, and receive them as citizens.

THESE DECLARATIONS we solemnly avow to the world, and call God to witness their truth and sincerity, and invoke defeat and disgrace upon our heads, should we prove guilty of duplicity.


B. T. Archer, President.


Municipality of Austin
Thomas Barnett,
Wyly Martin,
Randall Jones,
Wm. Menifee,
Jesse Burnam.

Municipality of Matagorda
R. R. Royall,
Charles Wilson.

Municipality of Washington.
Asa Mitchell,
Philip Coe,
Elijah Collard,
Jesse Grimes,
A. Hoxie.

Municipality of Mina.
J.S. Lester,
D.C. Barrett,
R. M. Williamson.

Municipality of Columbia.
Henry Smith,
Edwin Waller,
J. S. D. Byrom,
John H. Wharton,
W. D. C. Hall.

Municipality of Harrisburgh.
Lorenzo de Zavala,
Wm. P. Harris, C. C. Dyer,
Meriwether W. Smith,
John W. Moore,
D.B Macomb.
Municipality of Gonzales
J. D. Clemens
Benjamin Fuqua
James Hodges
William Arrignton,
William S. Fisher,
G. W. Davis.

Municipality of Viesca.
S. T. Allen,
A. G. Perry,
J. G. W. Pierson,
Alexander Thompason,
J. W. Parker.

Municipality of Nacogdoches.
Samuel Houston,
Daniel Parker
James W. Robertson,
William Whitaker.

Municipality of Bevil.
John Bevil,
S. H. Everett,
Wyatt Hanks.

Municipality of San Augustin.
A. Houston,
Wm. N. Sigler,
A. E. C. Johnson,
A. Horton,
Martin Palmer,
Henry Augustin,
A. G. Kellogg.

Municipality of Liberty.
J. B. Woods,
A. B. Hardin,
Henry Millard,
C. West.

November 7, 1835.     P. B. Dexter, Secretary.

(Transcription, errors in original preserved)

Declaration of the People of Texas (1835)