Skip to Main Content

The library will close at 12pm on Thursday, August 11, for a law school staff event.

Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:
The Roy M. Merskey Spirit of Law Librarianship Award

Previous Award Winners

Winners are arranged in alphabetical order

  • Marvin Anderson for his work with the "Everybody Wins" reading program at the Benjamin E. Mays Magnet School in St. Paul, Minnesota
  • Steve Anderson for his work with the Howard County Early Onset and Newly-Diagnosed Parkinson's Disease Support Group and many other activities that address quality of life issues for people suffering from Parkinson's. Steve is also a gifted teacher and counselor to those struggling with the disease and other disabilities.
  • Jessie Burchfield for her work creating LIFE (Learning is For Everyone)Tutoring Ministry that tutors and mentors underprivileged children in Saline County.
  • Scott Burgh for his tireless activism on behalf of LBGTQ rights, fundraising for the American Cancer Society, raising funding and supplies for a literacy program in Madagascar and for significant work in support of gun control in Chicago. He has served as a mentor to many and a tireless worker in support of social justice issues that have come across his path.
  • CALL Community Service Committee for outstanding accomplishments in keeping its membership active in a wide variety of local and national charities.
  • Kristin A. Cheney for her work in Seattle establishing and operating Seniors With Pets Assistance
  • Terrye Conroy for her project, Circuit Riders, that, in partnership with the South Carolina Library Association, travels throughout the state presenting legal research seminars to academic and public librarians
  • Wes Daniels for establishing a resource center for legal work on behalf of the homeless
  • Andrew Evans in recognition of his work with inner-city youth and young people helping them overcome poverty and difficult living circumstances.
  • David Gunn for his work with Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic, Austin, Texas, Unit
  • Joan Howland for her work with Native American law students and for her work with ALA and AALL in support of creating opportunities for minorities in libraries
  • Mary Jenkins for her work as an activist and advocate for the Westwood Civic Association.
  • Leslie Leach for coordinating the National Library Week book drive for the benefit of the Home-Life Management Center of Wilmington, Delaware
  • Richard Leiter for his driving force, behind the scenes efforts, undying support for recognizing law librarian's achievements in charitable work, community involvement, and social services since 1992.
  • Catherine Lemann for her work with AIDSLaw of Louisiana
  • Frank Liu for his work with U.S.-Chinese academic exchange programs and in the Chinese American community
  • Jesse L. Matthews for developing the Patient Learning Resource Center at the Magee Rehabilitation Hospital in Philadelphia
  • Roy M. Mersky was awarded the Spirit Award posthumously in honor of his commitment to service over the course of his career, including leadership in many civic and legal organizations dedicated to preserving civil rights and justice
  • Kimberli Morris for her work with law schools in Iraq as they strive to rebuild their legal education system
  • Suzanne M. Morrison for her several service trips under the auspices of ABA/CEELI working with law libraries and law schools in troubled parts of the world.
  • Frosty Owen for his work with public school libraries
  • Leah Sandwell-Weiss in recognition of her work with Pima County Interfaith Council and Coalicion de Derechos Humanos for the causes of immigration and justice in Southern Arizona.
  • SCALL Inner City Youth Program Committee for its work offering inner-city youth the chance to learn new skills and meet new challenges by training, mentoring and hiring them to intern in law libraries and law firms
  • David Selden for his work promoting efforts to increase environmental sustainability and reduce climate-changing greenhouse gas and carbon emissions. Read more about David and his public service activities
  • Sara Sonet for her work supporting young athletes through years of attention and service to Special Hockey Washington and the Washington Ice Dogs team. Read more about Sara and her public service activities
  • Mickie Voges for her work with the ExTEND program at IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law
  • Deanna Harragarra Waters for her work with the Native American Rights Fund libraries
  • Mary Whisner, in recognition of her work with the Youth Tutoring Program sponsored by Catholic Community Services of Western Washington.
  • Lynn Wishart in recognition of her work as Coordinator of Outreach Programs at Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church and its many programs that serve the underprivileged, poor and homeless.