Skip to main content

The Tarlton Law Library is open at this time with access limited to current UT Law students, faculty, and staff. Members of the UT Austin community unaffiliated with the law school may contact the Circulation Desk (, 512-471-7726) for assistance with accessing library resources. Online reference services are also available. Please see the Tarlton Reopening FAQs and the Texas Law Fall 2020 Reopening Plan for additional details

Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:
The Roy M. Merskey Spirit of Law Librarianship Award


Each year, the Roy M. Mersky Spirit of Law Librarianship Award for Public Service Committee honors one law librarian or law library organization for service to the community. Please help us by nominating a worthy individual who has made a meaningful contribution to a social or charitable cause or concern. Review the previous award winners to see the variety of charitable work that may be recognized.

Award recipients are selected from nominations submitted to the Award Selection Committee, which consists of Professor Leiter, University of Nebraska Law Library; Dick Spinelli, Senior Vice President, Wm. S. Hein & Company; and Professor Barbara Bintliff, Director of Tarlton Law Library at The University of Texas School of Law. Andrew Evans, 2015 recipient, will participate in the selection. The award is presented each year at a reception during the Annual Meeting of the American Association of Law Libraries.

An award will be given only when an outstanding individual is nominated. The committee encourages nominations from anyone with information regarding individuals who might fit the profile of an award recipient. Please help us to recognize the people who represent a special dimension of the "Spirit of Law Librarianship."

The deadline for nominations is June 1. To make a nomination, please contact: Professor Richard Leiter, Schmid Law Library, University of Nebraska College of Law, Lincoln, NE 68583-0902;; (402) 472-5737; fax: (402) 472-8260.