Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Covid-19: For updates and resources, head to UT's Protect Texas Together site.

Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:

Intellectual Property

This guide outlines major resources in intellectual property law and its subtopics of copyright, patent, and trademark law.

Bloomberg BNA Intellectual Property Law Resource Center

Database that is part of Bloomberg BNA Premier (also available via Bloomberg Law) and contains:

Primary law sources:

  • Case law: full text of decisions reported in United States Patents Quarterly (USPQ) from 1929 to the present, combined with finding aids to facilitate the search process.
  • Statutes: full text of Title 35 (Patents), Title 17 (Copyrights), and Chapters 22 and 63 of Title 15 (Trademarks, Chapter 22 and Technology Innovation, Chapter 63) of the United States Code (current through July 31, 2008).
  • Regulations: full text of final federal regulations in Title 37 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

Secondary sources:

  • Patents and the Federal Circuit (10th. Ed.): treatise that offers a comprehensive analysis of Federal Circuit cases with chapters on Patentability, Infringement, Ownership and Enforcement, Remedies, the Patent Office, and the Federal Circuit. (Tarlton also has print version.)
  • Harmon on Patents: Black-Letter Law and Commentary: treatise that restates contemporary substantive patent law in a series of “black letter” rules, with extensive commentary that thoroughly answers any patent law question. 
  • Trademark & Related Unfair Competitive Law: practical analysis of trademark law that is part of BNA's Corporate Practice Series of over 60 portfolios on a wide range of subjects of interest to corporate counsel.
  • Trade Secrets: Protection and Remedies: another Corporate Practice Series portfolio, containing both legal analysis of the topic and practical working papers to help you implement the policies discussed in the portfolio.

Also contains current awareness materials, noted separately in this guide.

PLI Discover Plus

Practising Law Institute's (PLI) Discover PLUS provides comprehensive access to PLI content published since 2008, including treatises, answer books, course handbooks, and exclusive access to seminar transcripts.  Topical areas include intellectual property law. Individual chapters are available as downloadable PDFs, while forms, templates, and sample documents from across PLI's library can be individually retrieved and edited.

Practical Law Company (PLC)

Designed for transactional lawyers, PLC provides model documents with drafting and negotiating tips, step-by-step checklists, and updates on the latest legal and market developments including in the area of intellectual property.

Lex Machina

Lex Machina is a patent law litigation database that extracts data and documents from PACER, all 94 District Court sites, ITC’s EDIS site and the PTO site. Lex Machina’s web-based application enables users to run search queries that deliver access to the relevant docket entries and documents. It also generates lists that can be downloaded as PDF files or spreadsheet-ready CSV files. The system generates a daily patent litigation update email, which provides links to all new patent cases and filings.

Lex Machina provides free access for employees and students at U.S. colleges and universities engaged in IP research or study.

CCH Copyright Law Reporter

Database that is available on Westlaw (login required). Unfortunately, Westlaw's version only allows for terms & connectors or natural language searching; there is no table of contents or index provided.

Contains full text of federal laws, precedent-setting court decisions, annotated explanations from CCH editors, Copyright Office forms, official circulars and reference materials.