Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Covid-19: For updates and resources, head to UT's Protect Texas Together site.

Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:

Intellectual Property

This guide outlines major resources in intellectual property law and its subtopics of copyright, patent, and trademark law.

Treatises & Study Aids

Treatises: In the area of intellectual property law, certain treatises tend to dominate their respective fields. Noted below are the major treatises within each different area, as well as links to more complete listings.

  • Intellectual property law:
    • Leading treatise: Epstein on Intellectual Property
    • More information about this and other general treatises
  • Copyright: 
    • Leading treatise: Nimmer on Copyright
    • More information about this and other copyright treatises
  • Patents:
    • Leading treatise: Chisum on Patents
    • More information about this and other patent treatises
  • Trademark:
    • Leading treatise: McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition
    • More information about this and other trademark treatises
  • Trade Secrets:
    • Trade Secrets by Roger M. Milgrim
    • More information about this and other treatises on trade secrets

Besides treatises, there are also the basic works of study aids for intellectual property law.

New editions of print titles arrive all the time, so be sure to double check TALLONS, the online catalog, for the most recent version.

Pro Bono Resource

Law Reviews & Periodicals - Databases

Law reviews and periodicals can be found through many sources. Check the Tarlton databases page for more information.

Tips for Finding Most Current and Relevant Articles

  • To find articles across journals, search the various indexes to legal periodicals, as well as the full-text journal databases on Lexis and Westlaw (logins required).
  • To find articles that may be too recent to be in those indexes or databases, check:
    • Tarlton's Current Awareness service of the latest law review articles received by the Library (tracks copyright, patent, and trademark).
    • Current Index to Legal Periodicals (on Westlaw (login required); indexed subjects include "Intellectual Property Law")
    • Law reviews' websites for latest content
  • To find article drafts that may be posted in advance of publication, check:
  • To stay abreast of law review's new issues, you can set up alerts various ways, including
    • Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)
    • Law review's website to see if it provides updates of new content by email or RSS
    • HeinOnline eTOC Alert
  • Regional journals may have issues devoted to survey of a particular jurisdiction, e.g., state or federal circuit.
  • May also want to look for symposium and conference issues on a particular topic; add these terms to a keyword search.