Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Covid-19: For updates and resources, head to UT's Protect Texas Together site.

Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:

Juries and the Law

A research guide for the role of juries in the law, laying out resources for current awareness, secondary sources, and jury instructions and verdicts.

Introductory Works

New editions of print titles arrive all the time, so be sure to double check TALLONS, the online catalog, for the most recent version.

Law Reviews and Periodicals

Bibliography of jury-related articles:


Annual Review of Criminal Procedure:

  • Online and KF 9602 A56.
  • Annual review that includes discussion of many topics related to juries in criminal trials.

Tips for finding latest and most relevant articles:

  • To find articles across journals, search the various indexes to legal periodicals, as well as the full-text journal databases on Lexis and Westlaw (logins required).
  • To find articles that may be too recent to be in those indexes or databases, check:
    • Current Index to Legal Periodicals (on Westlaw (login required))
    • Law reviews' websites for latest content
  • To find article drafts that may be posted in advance of publication, check:
  • To stay abreast of law review's new issues, you can set up alerts various ways, including
    • Current Index to Legal Periodicals
    • Law review's website to see if it provides updates of new content by email or RSS
    • HeinOnline eTOC Alert
  • Regional journals may have issues devoted to survey of a particular jurisdiction, e.g., state or federal circuit.
  • May also want to look for symposium and conference issues on a particular topic; add these terms to a keyword search.

Additional Treatises

The topic of juries is also addressed in these more general treatises on civil and criminal procedure.

Databases