Skip to main content

The Tarlton Law Library’s physical facility, including Special Collections, is closed until further notice. Tarlton’s librarians and staff remain actively engaged in providing library services. Student tech support (techdesk@law.utexas.edu) and faculty and student reference assistance (https://tarlton.law.utexas.edu/email) will be available during business hours. Students can also consult our Library and Technology Support FAQ (https://tarlton.law.utexas.edu/student-remote) for most frequently needed information.

Tarlton Law Library will reopen August 24: Tarlton Reopening FAQs. In-person and online classes resume August 26: Texas Law Fall 2020 Reopening Plan.

Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:

Reusable Content: Hargrave Fellowship

About the Hargrave Fellowship

Helen HargraveThe Hargrave Fellowship was created to foster interest and provide hands-on education in special collections librarianship and archival practice focusing on legal materials. The Hargrave Fellowship was named in honor of Helen Hargrave, director of the law library from 1940 to 1965.

Fellows are employed in the Special Collections Department of the Tarlton Law Library while they attend the University of Texas School of Information. Fellows participate in a variety of activities which may include processing archival collections; creating and encoding finding aids; digitizing materials; migrating audio visual material; creating digital exhibits for the Tarlton Law Library web site; producing digital collections; and providing reference service to Special Collections users.

Fellows are employed for 20 hours per week during the semester. They receive a monthly stipend and resident tuition rates. The Fellowship is a one-year appointment, and may be renewed for a second year. Fellows must remain students in good standing at the UT iSchool for the duration of their appointment.

Hargrave Fellowship Requirements

Applicants must be admitted to the University of Texas School of Information's Master of Science in Information Studies program.

Preference will be given to candidates with: a demonstrated interest in archival practice or special collections librarianship; a law degree or knowledge of legal materials; a knowledge of encoded archival description (EAD) and/or OCLC's CONTENTdm digital collection management system.

How to apply for the Hargrave Fellowship

Applicants should submit a letter of application describing their interest in archival practice or special collections librarianship and relevant background or experience, a current resume, and the names and full contact information for three references. All materials should be sent to Liz Hilkin via email at mbrownfield@law.utexas.edu or mailed to the following address:

Molly Brownfield
Interim Head of Archives and Special Collections
Tarlton Law Library
University of Texas School of Law
727 East Dean Keeton Street
Austin, Texas 78705

The application deadline for the fall semester is August 1.

Inquiries should be directed to Molly Brownfield at mbrownfield@law.utexas.edu.