The Tarlton Law Library’s physical facility, including Special Collections, is closed until further notice. Tarlton’s librarians and staff remain actively engaged in providing library services. Student tech support (email@example.com) and faculty and student reference assistance (https://tarlton.law.utexas.edu/email) will be available during business hours. Students can also consult our Library and Technology Support FAQ (https://tarlton.law.utexas.edu/student-remote) for most frequently needed information.
CONTACT: Jonathan Pratter, Foreign & International Law Librarian
PHONE: (512) 471-7260 or 471-7726
FAX: (512) 471-0243
MAILING ADDRESS: 727 East Dean Keeton Street, Austin, TX 78705-3224
Tarlton Law Library holds extensive collections in public international law, foreign law, and the law of private international transactions. The Foreign & International Law Librarian is responsible for the developing of these collections, for providing access to them, and for providing specialized assistance in their use.
Jonathan Pratter is Tarlton’s Foreign & International Law Librarian. Mr. Pratter is available to assist users of the collections from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday. Patrons should ask for Mr. Pratter at either the circulation or reference desk. Mr. Pratter has his law degree from the University of Nebraska and his library science degree from the University of Illinois. He has been Foreign & International Law Librarian since 1986.
The Foreign and International Law Collections are subject to the same rules for use as the other collections of the Library. A substantial amount of material is available for circulation under standard Library rules. However, substantial amounts of foreign and international legal materials must be used in the Library. This includes primary legal materials, looseleaf material, multi-volume sets, and periodicals. Questions about circulation of materials in the Foreign and International Collections can be answered by the Foreign & International Law Librarian or staff at the circulation desk.