Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Tarlton Law Library is open at this time with access limited to current UT Law students, faculty, and staff. Members of the UT Austin community unaffiliated with the law school may contact the Circulation Desk (, 512-471-7726) for assistance with accessing library resources. Online reference services are also available. Please see the Tarlton Reopening FAQs and the Texas Law Fall 2020 Reopening Plan for additional details

Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:

Reusable Content: Federal Documents

Federal Documents

Federal depository library logoLOCATION: Government Documents Office, Room 4.203 (4th floor of the Law Library)
MAILING ADDRESS: 727 East Dean Keeton Street, Austin, TX 78705-3224

HOURS: 8:30-5:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

CONTACT: Barbara Bridges, Government Documents Librarian
PHONE: (512) 232-3805

The Tarlton Law Library has been a congressionally-designated selective depository for U.S. Government documents since 1965. The Library collects Congressional publications and other law-related titles from the Executive and Judicial branches of the federal government.

The collection is located on the 4th floor of the Library, with most documents arranged by Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification number. Most of the documents collection can be accessed using the Library online catalog (TALLONS).

The collection is overseen by Government Documents librarian Barbara Bridges in the Government Documents Office (Room 4.203). If the office is closed, the Reference Librarian on the main floor can assist patrons during regularly scheduled reference hours.

Related links

Federal Legislative History Research guide