Skip to main content

The Tarlton Law Library’s physical facility, including Special Collections, is closed until further notice. Tarlton’s librarians and staff remain actively engaged in providing library services. Student tech support (techdesk@law.utexas.edu) and faculty and student reference assistance (https://tarlton.law.utexas.edu/email) will be available during business hours. Students can also consult our Library and Technology Support FAQ (https://tarlton.law.utexas.edu/student-remote) for most frequently needed information.

Tarlton Law Library will reopen August 24: Tarlton Reopening FAQs. In-person and online classes resume August 26: Texas Law Fall 2020 Reopening Plan.

Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Operating Hours:

Reusable Content: Archives and Special Collections

Special Collections Department

NOTICE: The Tarlton Law Library's physical collection, including Special Collections, is closed until further notice. 

Peregrinus, law school mascot
Peter Mansbendel. Peregrinus.
Circa 1935.
Woodcut from Der Richterlich Clagspiegel.
Sebastian Brandt. Der Richterlich Clagspiegel.
Strassburg: Johannes Knobloch, 1518.

The Special Collections Department at the Tarlton Law Library holds significant collections of rare books related to law and legal practice, archives relevant to legal history and the history of legal education in Texas and the United States, and special collections that complement our holdings for the purposes of historical research. These collections provide robust support for research, exhibits, and programming. The department welcomes researchers by appointment. University of Texas faculty and students are especially encouraged to use these resources.

The Department is located on the fourth floor of the Tarlton Law Library in room 4.209. For driving directions and parking at the Law Library, please see Location and Parking. The department is open by appointment only.  Researchers may request an appointment between 8:30-12:00 and 1:00-4:30, Monday through Friday, excluding university holidays. As staffing of the department is limited, researchers are asked to contact the Special Collections staff to request an appointment well in advance of an anticipated visit to ensure the best use of researcher and staff time during the visit. For more information about conducting research from our collections, please contact us.

Inquiries about political candidates, including Senator Elizabeth Warren, should be directed to the Law School’s Communications Office. Please email communications@law.utexas.edu or call 512-471-7330.