Visit The University of Texas homepage
Visit the Tarlton Law Library homepage

Constitution of Texas (1845) (Joining the U.S.)


Journals of the Convention, Assembled at the City of Austin on the Fourth of July, 1845, for the Purpose of Framing a Constitution for the State of Texas. Austin: Miner & Cruger, printers to the Convention, 1845.

Article I: Bill of Rights
Article II: Division of the Powers of Government
Article III: Legislative Department
Article IV: Judicial Department
Article V: Executive Department
Article VI: Militia
Article VII: General Provisions
Article VIII: Slaves
Article IX: Impeachment
Article X: Education
Article XI: (Head-Rights)
Article XII: Land Office
Article XIII: Schedule