Visit The University of Texas homepage
Visit the Tarlton Law Library homepage

Federal Constitution of the United Mexican States (1824)

 Previous  Next

Spanish version



Of the form of Government of the Nation, in its integral parts, and of the division of the Supreme Power.

Article 4. The Mexican nation adopts for the form of its government a popular representative and federal republic.

Article 5. The constituent parts of the Federation are the following States and Territories, viz: the States of Chiapas, Chihuahua, Coahuila and Texas, Durango, Guanajuato, Mexico, Michoacan, Nuevo Leon, Oajaca, Pueblo de los Angeles, Queretaro, San Luis Potosi, Sonora and Sinaloa, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, Vera Cruz, Jalisco, Yucatan, and Zacatecas; the Territories of Upper California, Lower California, Colima, and Santa Fe de Nuevo Mexico. A constitutional law will fix the character of Tlascala.

Article 6. The Supreme power of the Federation as to its exercise, is divided into the legislative, executive and judicial powers.