Tarlton Law Library: Finding Materials in PDF: Legislative History

Introduction

This page concentrates on federal, not state, legislative history sources.

The availability of state legislative history materials varies greatly; consult a research guide for the particular state of interest for assistance. To find such a research guide, see Indiana University Law Library's State Legislative History Research Guides. (Texas legislative history materials are not available in PDF. For help researching in this area, see the law library's Texas Legislative History Research Guide.)

For more help with federal materials, see the law library's Federal Legislative History Research Guide.

Bills

Congress.gov
101st Congress (1989) to date
govinfo
103rd Congress (1993) to date
Library of Congress
6th Congress (1799) to 42nd Congress (1873)

ProQuest - Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Selected bills. 71st Congress (1929) to date.

Hearings

House Committee Websites
Selected official hearings.
Senate Committee Hearings
Resources for locating committees.
Readex
Selected, official; 15th Congress (1817) to 96th Congress (1980)

Proquest - Congressional This link opens in a new window
Published and unpublished hearings.
18th Congress (1824) to date; PDF format (1824-2003)
Note: You might sometimes see two versions of the same document in your search results, one under "Hearings" and one under "Hearings -- Digital Collection" as the ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection is still in the process of being loaded. Look under "Hearings -- Digital Collection" to find the version in PDF.
ProQuest - Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Selected hearings
71st Congress (1929) to date

Reports

Congress.gov
104th Congress; 1995 to date
govinfo
104th Congress (1995) to date

ProQuest - Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Selected reports. 71st Congress (1929) to date.

Readex
15th Congress (1817) through 96th Congress (1980)

Debates

HeinOnline
Debates of Congress. Annals of Congress; Register of Debates; Congressional Globe; Congressional Record (1st Congress (1789 to date)
Congressional Record, Daily Edition (103rd Congress (1994) to date)
Includes indexes.
ProQuest Congressional
Congressional Record.
Annals of the Congress; Register of Debates; Congressional Globe; Congressional Record
1st Congress (1789) to 105th Congress (1997)
Includes indexes.

ProQuest - Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Selected excerpts from the Congressional Record.
71st Congress (1929) to date.

LLMC Digital: Congressional Record
43rd Congress (1873) to most current bound volume
govinfo
Congressional Record, Daily Edition: 103rd Congress (1994) to date
Congressional Record, Bound Edition: 105th Congress (1998) to 107th Congress (2002)
Index: 98th Congress (1983) to date
Library of Congress
Links to the Annals of Congress, the Register of Debates, and Congressional Globe at top of page.

Signing Statements

HeinOnline:

Compilation of Presidential Documents
- Daily: 2009 to date
- Weekly: 1965 to Jan. 2009
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States: 1929-2016 (Franklin D. Roosevelt papers separate)

govinfo:

Compilation of Presidential Documents (Daily and Weekly): 1992 to date
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States: 1991 to 2016

LLMC Digital: Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1929-2001 (except for FDR))

ProQuest Legislative Insight:

Selected signing statements
71st Congress (1929) to date

Visiting the Library

Contact Us

Career Opportunities

Access Materials

Legal Databases

Library Resources

Resources

Reference

Collections

Liaison Services

Collection Services

Course Support

Student Guides

Legal Research

Student Services