Skip to main content
Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Hours:
Today's Hours
More Hours

Archives & Special Collections

The Uniform Law Commission

The Uniform Law Commission (ULC), known until 2007 as the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (NCCUSL), consists of state commissions on uniform laws from each state, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Uniform Law Commission members must be qualified to practice law, and include attorneys, judges, legislators and legislative staff, and law professors. Members actively research, draft, and promote enactment in their jurisdiction of uniform state laws, donating thousands of hours of time and expertise to the Commission.

The mission of the Uniform Law Commission is to provide states with non-partisan, well-conceived, and well-drafted legislation that brings clarity and stability to state statutory law. Additionally, uniform laws strengthen the federal system by providing rules and procedures that are consistent across states.

More information about the Uniform Law Commission may be found on their web site at www.uniformlaws.org.

Uniform Law Commission Archive

The Uniform Law Commission Archives at the Tarlton Law Library is over 600 linear feet. It contains the Uniform Law Commission's administrative files, committee papers, and a variety of working materials related to and used in studying, drafting, and revising uniform laws. They include but are not limited to correspondence, meeting documents, conference proceedings, reports, working and final drafts, publications, press releases, notes, programs, and research and legislative materials.

The collection is organized into two main groups: Acts and Committees. The Acts contains materials related to individual uniform and model acts. The Uniform Commercial Code is further separated by article. The Committees files contains work product of several committees and joint editorial boards of the Uniform Law Commission. Additionally, the Executive Committee Papers include general Uniform Law Commission materials like annual meeting programs and publications about uniform laws. Committee materials such as correspondence and meeting documents can be found within individual acts to which they related.

Each act, article, and committee or board represented in the collection has its own finding aid. The finding aids reflect the original creators of the files and contain folder-level descriptions of the contents of the collection. Links for the full list of Uniform Law Commission finding aids are included below. Please use the alphabetical tabs at the top of the Finding Aids box to navigate across the collection.

Researchers who would like to use the Uniform Law Commission Archive at Tarlton Law Library or those with any questions about the Archive or its contents are encouraged to view the finding aids and contact Liz Hilkin, Head of Archives and Special Collections, at (512) 471-7071 or archives@law.utexas.edu.

Finding Aids

Certificate of Title Act
Certificate of Title for Vessels Act
Certification of Question of Law Act
Chemical Test for Intoxication Act
Child Abduction Prevention Act
Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act
Child Witness Testimony by Alternative Methods Act
Choice of Court Agreements Act
Class Actions Act, Model
Collaborative Law Rules and Act
Collateral Consequences of Conviction Act
Collateral Sanctions in Criminal Sentencing Act
Commercial Code Article 1
Commercial Code Article 2
Commercial Code Article 2A
Commercial Code Article 2B
Commercial Code Article 3 and 4
Commercial Code Article 4A
Commercial Code Article 5
Commercial Code Article 6
Commercial Code Article 7
Commercial Code Article 8
Commercial Code Article 9
Commercial Code Harmonization of Articles 1, 2, 2A and 2B
Commercial Code, General Materials
Commercial Transactions Act
Common Interest Ownership Act
Community Property Brought into Separate Property States Act
Comparative Fault Act
Computer Generated Evidence Act
Computer Information Transactions Act
Condominium Act
Conflict of Laws--Limitations Act
Conflicts of Jurisdiction Act, Model
Conservation Easements Act
Construction Lien Act, Model
Consular Notification Act
Consumer Automobile Leasing Act, Model
Consumer Clear Information Act
Consumer Credit Code
Consumer Leases Act
Consumer Sales Practices Act
Contribution Among Tortfeasors Act
Controlled Substances Act
Correction or Clarification of Defamation Act
Corrections Code
Court Annexed Arbitration Act
Crime Victims Reparations Act
Criminal History Records Act
Custodial Trust Act

Loading ...