Skip to main content
Tarlton Law Library logo Texas Law Home Tarlton Law Library Home
Today's Hours:
Today's Hours
More Hours

Reusable Content

Archives - Introduction

The Tarlton Law Library maintains over 5,000 linear feet of archives. The Library holds records of enduring value created by The University of Texas School of Law, as well as the papers of U.S. Supreme Court Justice Tom C. Clark and the Uniform Law Commission,  collections of several Texas Supreme Court justices and federal judges, and many University of Texas School of Law alumni, faculty, and deans. These remarkable collections provide materials relevant to legal history and the history of legal education in Texas and the United States.

Finding aids for many of our archival collections are available via Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO), a consortium of the major research archives in Texas. The links below navigate to detailed finding aids for each collection.

Justice Tom C. Clark Archive

Tom C. Clark, the first Texan to serve on the United States Supreme Court, earned his law degree from the University of Texas in 1922. He joined the Justice Department in 1937 and rose through the ranks. President Truman appointed him U.S. Attorney General in 1945 and Associate Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court in 1949. Clark resigned from the Court in 1967 when his son, Ramsey Clark, was appointed Attorney General. Following his retirement,  Clark served as the first Chairman of the Federal Judiciary Center and accepted assignments to sit by designation on various United States Courts of Appeal until his death on June 13, 1977.

The Tom C. Clark Papers include over 500 linear feet of case files, correspondence, literary productions, speeches, printed material, political cartoons, artifacts, scrapbooks and photographs, which include a virtually complete record of Clark's 18 years as Associate Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court (1949-1967).

Guide to the Tom C. Clark Papers
Papers of Justice Tom. C. Clark: Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Cases of the U.S. Supreme Court
Native American War Bonnets from the Tom C. Clark Archive

Collections relating to The University of Texas

One of the primary goals of the Tarlton Law Library's archival collection is to collect, preserve, and make available the records of enduring value created by The University of Texas School of Law. These permanently valuable records from the 19th century to present day detail the history and events of the School of Law. Materials include Law School catalogs, yearbooks, course directories, programs and announcements, newsletters and magazines. The papers of several Law School faculty members and deans are also maintained in Special Collections. These archives provide insights into legal education, the history of the Law School, and national affairs. Related archives include Law School organizations, the Law School Photograph Collection, and the Faculty Writings Collection.

Deans

John C. Townes Papers (1887-1923)
Ira Polk Hildebrand Papers (1883-1944)
Charles T. McCormick Papers (1911-1964)
W. Page Keeton Papers (1938-1995)

Faculty

Leo G. Blackstock Papers (1929-1979)
Woodfin L. Butte Papers (1957, 1977-1978)
David B. Filvaroff Papers (1976-1979)
T. J. Gibson Papers (1949-1986) [Bulk 1972-1984]
Robert Simonton Gould Letters to Thomas Watt Gregory (1893)
Leon Green Papers (1861, 1904-1979)
Helen Hargrave Papers (1919-1978)
Robert E. Mathews Papers (1917-1980)
Millard H. Ruud Papers (1939-1996)
Robert W. Stayton Papers (1934-1950)
George W. Stumberg Papers (1909-1964)
Bernard J. Ward Papers (ca. 1954-1982)
Charles Alan Wright Papers (1880-2004) [Bulk 1947-1999]

Law School History

UT School of Law History Files (1889-1992, undated)
Law School Photographs of Cary Hazlegrove (1992-1999)
Law School Notebooks of Henry Gilchrist (1927-1974) [Bulk 1948-1950]

University History

Dudley K. Woodward Papers (1917-1968)

Organizations

Delta Theta Phi Fraternity Collection (1979-1985)
Records of Kappa Beta Pi Legal Sorority (1924-1969)
Law Wives Club Records (1947-1976)
Legal Eagles Records (1955-1997)
Texas Law Review Records (1922-1981)

Uniform Law Commission Archives

The Uniform Law Commission Archives at the Tarlton Law Library is over 500 linear feet. It contains materials of the Uniform Law Commission Main Office and papers of more than fifty individuals who contributed to various uniform acts. One hundred eighty-two acts are represented in the Archive along with all Uniform Commercial Code articles. PDF files of the acts represented and the individuals who contributed materials to the Archive may be viewed using the links below.

View a complete list of acts represented in the Archive.

View a complete list of donors to the Archive.

About the Uniform Law Commission

The Uniform Law Commission (ULC), known until 2007 as the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (NCCUSL), consists of state commission on uniform laws from each state, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Uniform Law Commission members must be qualified to practice law. Members actively research, draft, and promote enactment in their jurisdiction of uniform state laws, donating thousands of hours of time and expertise to the Commission.

The mission of the Uniform Law Commission is to provide states with non-partisan, well-conceived, and well-drafted legislation that brings clarity and stability to state statutory law. Additionally, uniform laws strengthen the federal system by providing rules and procedures that are consistent across states.

Uniform laws are kept up-to-date by addressing important and timely legal issues that affect existing state laws. The Commission also conducts rigorous research into the need for new and innovative uniform laws.

More information about the Uniform Law Commission may be found on their web site at www.uniformlaws.org.

Finding Aids

Finding aids for the Acts and Articles are available through Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO).

Uniform Commercial Code Article 1 General Provisions
Uniform Commercial Code Article 2 Sales
Uniform Commercial Code Article 2A Leases
Uniform Commercial Code Article 2B Licenses
Harmonization of Uniform Commercial Code Articles 1, 2, 2A, and 2B
Uniform Commercial Code Article 3 Negotiable Transfers and Article 4 Bank Deposits and Collections
Uniform Commercial Code Article 4A Funds Transfers
Uniform Commercial Code Article 5 Letters of Credit
Uniform Commercial Code Article 6 Bulk Transfers
Uniform Commercial Code Article 7 Documents of Title
Uniform Commercial Code Article 8 Investment Securities
Uniform Commercial Code Article 9 Secured Transactions

Researchers who would like to use the Uniform Law Commission Archive at Tarlton Law Library or those with any questions about the Archive or its contents are encouraged to contact Liz Hilkin at (512) 471-7071 or via email at archives@law.utexas.edu.